Kitchen Hand Scrub

Teddy’s family in India owns a farm which grows, among other things*, coconuts.

*As far as I can tell, the only other thing is rice. I’m not really sure. But things like bananas and jackfruit and other yummies grow wild, so there’s always amazing fresh fruit to be found.

So, coconuts. I call Teddy the “coconut king of Kerala,” which he even finds amusing occasionally. Don’t worry, I’m not giving up my day job. (Not that I currently have a day job to give up.)

Joy the Baker posted this coconut, lemon, and rosemary kitchen hand scrub. zOMGs coconuts! Makin’ it.

I used organic, unrefined, cold pressed coconut oil. If this isn’t a staple in your house, get on that. The stuff is amazing. You can cook with it, you can put it on your kid’s butt at diaper changes (cloth diaper safe!), you can remove your eye makeup with it. Seriously. Start buying this stuff.

image

If the coconut smell/flavor is too much for you, get the refined stuff. It’s more processed, but I think all the same benefits are there.

The only issue I had with Joy’s recipe is my coconut oil was rock hard (my kitchen is a tad cold). Teddy had the brilliant idea to use a potato masher instead of the fork, which worked great and once it softened up a bit I switched to the fork and fluffed it up nicely.

image

I’m really happy with it. My hands have taken a beating this winter, and the scrub is definitely an improvement. I might put a little in a spare jar to use on my feet in the shower. (Don’t even get me started on the sad condition of my feet right now.)

I keep it in the fridge, but I put it on the counter before dishes or cooking so it warms up a bit, and then just spoon some out onto my hand.

I’m also a die hard lemon lover, so I might double the zest next time. Need more citrus!

How do you care for your skin in these cold winter months? Any favorite recipes?

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

