Lisa Bloom: How to Talk to Little Girls

A friend posted this on FB, and it’s amazing.  It’s a great post about talking to little girls in a way that doesn’t focus on how cute or well dressed she is, but instead focuses on her intelligence and recognizing that she has something worthy of a conversation.

Reading this really had a strong impact on me, because I feel like it goes so well with the parenting that Teddy & I hope to model for Belly Monster.  It’s why we don’t want to smother her in glitter and bows.  It’s why we wanted to start a little library for her from the very start (and with the help of our friends, we’ve got a respectable start already).

I don’t want to do a lot of commentary here, because I really feel like Lisa Bloom’s words stand on their own.  So I’ll just say: I LOVE THIS.

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

