Product Review: Wool Dryer Balls by CleanSypria

Two months ago, I purchased 6 wool dryer balls from CleanSypria on Etsy.  I was interested in them for a few reasons.  First, you’re not supposed to use dryer sheets with cloth diapers, because they affect absorbancy.  Second, once I started learning about all the chemicals in dryer sheets, I wasn’t too interested in using them anyway haha.  And third, I thought it was a good way to cut down on household costs, even if just by a little bit (both because I wouldn’t be buying dryer sheets and because dryer balls supposedly cut down on drying time).

So, what are dryer balls?  They’re literally balls that you put in the dryer to tumble with your clothes as you dry them.  I’ve read about all different kinds.  Some people use rubber balls, while others use tennis balls.  The problems with them, as far as I can tell, is that those both involve a lot of chemicals, and I would think that running them in a hot dryer would cause off gassing.  I also got the impression from searching the interwebs that they could be pretty noisy.

Then I found wool dryer balls, and these seemed like a pretty perfect solution.  All the benefits of dryer balls without the off gassing and apparently less noise.  I was still pretty active on BBC at the time, and someone on the cloth diapering board recommended CleanSypria, so I went over and bought a set.  (Actually, I hemmed and hawed about it for about a month, then realized I was almost out of dryer sheets, and quickly bought a set so I wouldn’t have to buy another box of sheets.  Motivate!)

So I spent $35.50 for 6 dryer balls, which is pretty hefty (approximately equal to 6 boxes of dryer sheets).  They shipped from Arkansas and arrived pretty quickly.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit I was excited to get them, but I was also a bit anxious to give them a try.  I wasn’t sure if they would actually work, and I also was concerned that the dryer sheets might have left a residue on the inside of my dryer that would affect the dryer balls.  In the end, I decided to give them a try for the first time with a pretty big load of towels, figuring the towels would kind of wipe down the inside of the dryer and hopefully remove any lingering residue.

Since then, I’ve been using the wool dryer balls for every load of laundry.  And honestly, I couldn’t be happier.  Here’s what I love:

  • Savings: I haven’t had to buy any dryer sheets.  I also don’t have to think about it, like “oh, do I have dryer sheets?”  Doesn’t matter.  With pregnancy brain, it’s nice to have one thing I don’t have to try (and probably fail) to remember!
  • Ease of use: I don’t have to dig out the old dryer sheet with every load.  I just leave the balls in there.
  • Minimal noise: OK, here’s the secret.  I hate my neighbors.  They’re load, they have awful screaming matches, their pre-teen children curse like sailors and I can hear it through the wall, and they’ve slammed doors so hard that pictures have fallen off my walls. So I probably wouldn’t been too stressed out if the dryer balls made a lot of noise, cause eh, who cares?  But they’re really not bad.  There is a low, consistent, dull sound, but the only time they’ve been loud is when I’ve had to do a small load, which I try to avoid anyway.
  • They totally work: my clothes come out soft, dry, and with no static cling.  I’ve had static issues twice (as in, with 2 different articles of clothing, not even 2 whole loads).  Once it was a cardigan that I left in for way too long.  The other time, it was polyester gym shorts which were in with cottons and I think I left them in too long, as well.  2 pieces of clothing since April isn’t something I’m gonna sweat.

Drawbacks?  Negatives?  Not really, but I have noticed:

  • Time savings: pretty minimal.  People online say drying times can be cut by as much as half.  I haven’t noticed this.  I would say my clothes dry a little bit faster, but not enough that I think we’re saving money on electricity or anything.
  • Bending: they get tangled up in my clothes when I’m pulling them out the dryer and then I drop them on the floor and have to bend over to pick them up.  This is purely a pregnant lady problem.  If I wasn’t pregnant, this wouldn’t be an issue haha.

All in all, I love them and am so glad I got them.

And what about CleanSypria specifically?  Like I said, they shipped quickly.  They’ve held up well and I think they’re good quality.  They have gotten slightly smaller and actually slightly flatter, but they haven’t pilled up or anything.

Wow, that’s a really long post just about dryer balls!  But seriously, I love them and they make me happy.

 

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

