Parenting Advice – Pretty Worthless

It’s funny, Baby is still a little English cucumber in my womb, kicking me and giving me heartburn, and already people want to tell me how to raise the little bub.

Dude, shut up.  I haven’t even met my little nugget yet, and I really don’t care what you have to say about my decision to XYZ.

Apparently I’m not alone.  One mom was so annoyed by the conflicting information that she wrote this hysterical post on Tumblr, compiling all the advice in a way that shows that NO ONE KNOWS ANYTHING EVER.  Here’s a good snippet:

“Topping the baby off before bed will help prevent night wakings. When babies wake at night, it isn’t because they are hungry. If the baby wants to nurse to sleep, press on the baby’s chin to close its mouth. Don’t stop the baby from nursing when asleep because that doesn’t cause a bad habit. Be wary of night feeds. If you respond too quickly with food or comfort, your baby is manipulating you. Babies can’t manipulate. Babies older than six months can manipulate.”

What kind of horrible, unwanted, non-helpful advice have you gotten?

Comments
4 Responses to “Parenting Advice – Pretty Worthless”
  1. haha how funny! I haven’t had too many people offering advice about caring for the baby… but, plenty of pregnancy advice! My mother-in-law is constantly calling me to make sure I’m eating enough!
    The most annoying thing that keeps happening is the number of times I’ve been told I’ll have to have a c-section because my baby is “soooo big” (because I’m a foreigner) – and people making this statement are not medical professionals, and many of them don’t have kids!! And, I was told by my doctor that I can deliver naturally because “I’m tall”.

    • Heather Hope says:

      That’s crazy! People are so quick to assume a c-section is necessary! I’m reading a book about that right now, actually – I’ll post a review of it when I’m done.

  2. Heather Hope says:

    It’s really disheartening. Stand your ground mama!

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

