First Cloth Diaper Group Meeting & an Evaluation of my Newborn Stash

Last week, I attended the Lehigh Valley Diaper Circle, which I found through Meetup.  It was hosted by the woman who owns Ju-Ju Monkey, and there were maybe 10 or so mommies and mommies-to-be there with their babies.

I had a lot of fun and got to meet some nice women.  Since I don’t know anyone who will be cloth diapering their baby, it was great to meet other fluff moms.  I also had my newborn stash evaluated and was told that I’ve got an “ideal” stash, except I need more cloth wipes.  Turns out, you go through about 3 wipes per diaper change!  Wow, was totally not expecting that.

So what’s my stash?  Here’s what I have for newborn:

  • 24 infant-size prefolds
  • 12 covers (4 aplix and 8 snaps)
  • 2 AIOs
  • 2 pockets (no inserts)
  • 3 Snappis (I really only need 1 probably, but they came in a pack of 3 where I bought them)
  • 1 pair pins
  • 32 wipes
  • approx. 6 fitteds (not purchased yet)
  • 2 wet bag pail liners (on baby shower registry)
  • 1 wet bag for diaper bag (on baby shower registry)

As far as I can guess, these diapers should fit baby until s/he’s about 14 pounds or so, or through disposable diapers size newborn and size 1.  My stash cost about $250, which would have been approximately 5 boxes of disposable diapers depending on where they were bought.  I could have done my stash cheaper, but I purchased all new and didn’t make the best use of deals, free shipping, etc.

If I had to do it over, knowing what I know now, I probably would have bought used on a swap to save money, especially on the prefolds.  But I’m really not going to sweat it, especially since some of these are going to be used past the newborn stage – the prefolds can be inserts in one-size pockets, the wipes and Snappis will still be used, and of course the wet bags are useful regardless of what size baby is.

I’m looking forward to next month’s fluff meeting and getting to know the other mommies more!  I just wish I could find a group closer to home – the drive is fine for me, but it will be too far when baby is little.  I’m gonna keep looking – there must be something around here!

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

