I’m so excited for canning!

I’m hoping to be able to get down to the market next week and find something yummy to can.  It’s kind of hectic around here – I’m helping organize a silent auction and becoming obsessed with checking various websites for on-sale baby stuff – but a batch of marmalade would be pretty awesome to get done.

And, of course, I would take pictures for a post 🙂

I remember when I first started canning, the whole process was kind of scary and mysterious.  I was terrified of making someone sick, and I thought the whole thing was just really difficult.  Totally not at all, and it’s mega fun.

I started out with the Ball website, which is a great resource.  I still go there for recipes.  I also bought a couple books, Tart and Sweet by Kelly Geary & Jessie Knadler, and Canning for a New Generation by Liana Krissoff.  Both have good and bad points, but overall I like them.  For supplies, I started out with the Ball Canning Discovery Kit, which includes a Polypropylene rack with separate lifter and 3 1-pint jars. The rack easily fits into my stockpot.  I also got a tool kit (though I can’t remember where it’s from) that had a funnel, jar lifter, lid lifter, a bubble remover, and a timer.  I’ve added to my tool kit some – a funnel which has headspace measurements, a separate headspace tool, and a much larger pot with a metal rack.

I guess the point I’m trying to get at is canning is lots of fun, it’s kind of cheap to do (after the initial investment), it’s fun and relaxing (if you don’t go crazy and stick to small batches), and when you’re done you have your own home-made, chemical free noms!

Strawberry Lemon Marmalade

Strawberry Lemon Marmalade

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

