Charitable Favors

Favors – what a pain.

Let’s be honest – most guests don’t want these things.  I’ve gotten so much stuff over the year that I didn’t even want to bother taking home.  Unless I can eat it right there, I really and honestly don’t want some trinket with your wedding date stamped on it.  It gets tossed in a drawer, and the next time I move, I throw it out.

So Teddy and I have been going back and forth about favors.  We were going to make and bottle homemade lemonade (yum), but it seemed like a lot to accomplish right before the wedding, and how would we keep it chilled during the reception?  Then we thought homemade soap, but I’m a vegetarian and didn’t want to play around with the ingredients.  (I know, I know, there are ways to do it without animal products, but whatever.)  So finally we settled on homemade candles.  We were going to make them in little galvanized metal buckets (if you’ve been reading this blog, you know my obsession), and they were going to be dyed our wedding colors.  Super cute.

And we were so doing this at my mom’s house, because it was going to be messing as hell and she has a garage.

But then my mom’s friend told her about charitable favors.  Brilliant!

We went back and forth about it – would people think it’s tacky? Would they rather have a trinket to take home? Who would we donate to?

In the end, we decided to go this route.  Instead of spending money on something people really don’t want, we can take that money and donate to an organization that we both care about and help bring something good into the world.

And then I found this post on brides.com which suggests that some people actually do think this is tacky. Seriously???  Why??? I don’t get it.

I also found this nice how-to for giving to a charity in lieu of favors which I think is really great.  I’m glad Teddy & I decided to do this.  We hope our guests appreciate it, too.

Comments
4 Responses to “Charitable Favors”
  1. Leslie Meyer says:

    I think that’s a great idea, although I would have loved to see the homemade candles that you and the Teddy would have made!

  2. Ginny says:

    I agree! 🙂 That’s what I plan on doing… I’m not offended in the slightest… hehe! 🙂

    • Heather Hope says:

      Yay!!! Though I think your wedding favors she be awesome noms. But I guess if the girl with the crafting blog isn’t crafting her favors, then the girl with the food blog doesn’t have to bake her favors 😉

Leave a Reply

  • Past Posts

